The Soul Friend

All people have the ability to teach, to be a companion or spirit guide, which is why I have no problem calling everybody, even strangers, “my friend.”  Alternatively, some people are more exclusive with the word friend, especially if they know of some less than honorable individuals.  Still, it doesn’t bother me… Whether we call these people longtime friends, confidants, homies, fair-weather friends, secondhand friends, friends of the family, acquaintances, internet friends, undercover friends, frenemies, fanatics, whatever kind of basic word we pick, they all tend to teach about some kind of love – whether it is collective, conditional or unconditional.  They tell us something about our Soul (if we listen).  They teach about some kind of loyalty, trustworthiness or the opposites of each, but within these diverse groups there is a smaller group, a group most of us refer to as the Best Friend(s), or as I call it, the Best Friend Scenario.  There are even smaller groups within that group; deeper bonds I  refer to as the Mirror Soul Friend and the True Soul Friend.

Mirror Soul Friend – I met her at the age of five.  Since I was so young, I don’t remember all the details of our first meeting, but I do remember the similar family dynamics.  We also had the same tastes in music, toys, clothes, everything.  To me at least, the similarities were comforting, almost healing.  She brought comedy in my life.  I could be long faced and solemn or the loud mouthed idiot and not worry what she would say behind my back.  I could forget all about my big time troubles.  We had grown so close that we called each other “best sisters,” meaning that the friendship was more special, a bit stronger than the usual ones.  It was cosmic, something neither one of us could understand, but we could feel it.  We remained friends for a little over a decade, until around tenth grade.  I tried not to show it, I was devastated when we drifted apart – when she traded me in for a new set of friends.  It’s important to note, after she left, I was able to focus on the “psychic things” that I didn’t care much about before.  To others, my Mirror Soul Friend didn’t seem like a real friend to me at all – they think it was not returned.  On one hand, they are right.  We were not friends superficially (on the surface).  The friendship was Spiritual.

True Soul Friend – I’ve known her for thirty years give or take.  The friendship is real, honest, and unconditional.  Trust and honesty is at the top of the list, right up there with loyalty; there are usually no disagreements big enough to end the relationship, there is respect for the differences in our personalities while supporting the similarities.  There is an uncanny ability to forgive AND understand.  We bonded due to similar dynamics in our homes as well.  Unlike the Mirror Soul Friend, the True Soul Friend and I did not drift apart.  We learned about life, Spirituality and personal growth together.  The True Soul Friend is different from the Mirror Soul Friend in that there’s way more honesty and empathic or psychic abilities.  Speaking of psychic abilities, there are a few pets and family members I’d like to include in this group, as they were/are very special in terms of psychic abilities as well.  Other names in this group include the Sister/Brother Cousin (a new one), Play Cousin, Play Sister/Brother, Bestest Friend, and I’m sure there are several more titles out there.

2 thoughts on “The Soul Friend

Leave a Reply

